Jay Groves

Co-Principal Investigator, MBI

email: jtgroves@lbl.gov
lab: Groves Lab

Professor, Department of Chemistry and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Signal transduction; Cellular biophysics

Dr Groves has had a long-standing interest in the physical and biological aspects of cell membranes. His group combines aspects of cellular biophysics, physical chemistry, and materials science to study key aspects of signal transduction processes in cell membranes.

Dr Groves received his BS degree in Physics and Chemistry (summa cum laude) from Tufts University in 1992, followed by his Ph.D. in Biophysics from Stanford University in 1998. At Stanford, he worked with Professors Steven Boxer and Harden McConnell, and there developed the patterned supported membrane technology. In 1998 he went to Academia Sinica in Taipei, Taiwan as a Visiting Scholar, and then joined the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory as a Division Director’s Fellow in 1999. In 2001 he joined the faculty of the Chemistry Department at UC Berkeley, where he is currently an Associate Professor with tenure. In 2008 he became a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and in 2009 joined MBI. Dr Groves is best known for his introduction of the Spatial Mutation technology and its application to physical studies of cell biology.


Biophysical Journal 2016, 110, 176-187: “Cholesterol-Enriched Domain Formation Induced by Viral-Encoded, Membrane-Active Amphipathic Peptide” Joshua M. Hanson, Douglas L. Gettel, Seyed R. Tabaei, Joshua Jackman, Min Chul Kim, Darryl Y. Sasaki, Jay T. Groves, Bo Liedberg, Nam-Joon Cho, Atul N. Parikh

Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci USA 2015, 112(35):10932-7: “E-cadherin junction formation involves an active kinetic nucleation process”, Kabir H. Biswas*, Kevin L. Hartman*, Cheng-Han Yu, Oliver J. Harrison, Hang Song, Adam W. Smith, William Y.C. Huang, Wan-Chen Lin, Zhenhuan Guo, Anup Padmanabhan, Sergey M. Troyanovsky, Michael L. Dustin, Lawrence Shapiro, Barry Honig, Ronen Zaidel-Bar, and Jay T. Groves

Science 2014, 345, 50-54: “Ras activation by SOS: Allosteric regulation by altered fluctuation dynamics”, Lars Iversen*, Hsiung-Lin Tu*, Wan-Chen Lin, Sune M. Christensen, Steven M. Abel, Jeff Iwig, Hung-Jen Wu, Jodi Gureasko, Christopher Rhodes, Rebecca S. Petit, Scott D. Hansen, Peter Thill, Cheng-Han Yu, Dimitrios Stamou, Arup K. Chakraborty, John Kuriyan, and Jay T. Groves

Biophysical Journal 2014, 106, 2196-2205: “Spatial Organization of EphA2 at the Cell-Cell Interface Modulates Trans-Endocytosis of EphrinA1”, Adrienne C. Greene*, Samuel J. Lord*, Aiwei Tian, Christopher Rhodes, Hiroyuki Kai, and Jay T. Groves

eLife 2013, 2, e00778: “Direct single molecule measurement of TCR triggering by agonist pMHC in living primary T cells”, Geoff P. O’Donoghue*, Rafal M. Pielak*, Alexander A. Smoligovets, Jenny J. Lin, and Jay T. Groves

Nano Letters 2013, 13, 3059-3064: “Nanoscale Obstacle Arrays Frustrate Transport of EphA2 – Ephrin-A1 Clusters in Cancer Cell Lines”, Theobald Lohmüller*, Qian Xu*, and Jay T. Groves

Cell, 2013, 152, 543-556: “Conformational coupling across the plasma membrane in activation of the EGF receptor.”, Nicholas F. Endres*, Rahul Das*, Adam Smith*, Anton Arkhipov, Erika Kovacs,Yongjian Huang, Jeffrey G. Pelton, Yibing Shan, David E. Shaw, David E. Wemmer, Jay T. Groves, and John Kuriyan

Nature Methods, 2012, 9, 1189-1191: “Membrane-protein binding measured with solution-phase plasmonic nanocube sensors.”, Hung-Jen Wu, Joel Henzie, Wan-Chen Lin, Christopher Rhodes, Zhu Li, Elodie Sartorel, Jeremy Thorner, Peidong Yang, and Jay T Groves

Science, 2010, 327, 1380: “Restriction of receptor movement alters cellular response: physical force sensing by EphA2”, Khalid Salaita*, Pradeep M. Nair*, Rebecca S. Petit, Richard M. Neve, Debopriya Das, Joe W. Gray, and Jay T. Groves

Nature Immunology, 2010, 11(1), 90-96 : “TCR and LAT occur in separate domains on T cell membranes, which concatenate during activation”, Bjorn F. Lillemeier, Manuel A. Mortelmaier, Martin B. Forstner, Johannes B. Huppa, Jay T. Groves, and Mark M. Davis

*These authors contributed equally to the work